All The Food I Ever Wanted And More

The town of Independence was swell and mostly involved eating. With my newfound Hiker Hunger, I now looked at food differently. I saw potential in things I formerly took for granted, like free chips at Mexican restaurants. In grocery stores I breezed passed the produce and beelined to the Pop-Tarts. “Why do low-calorie items even exist?” I wondered, liberating a shelf of its Mrs. Redd’s pie stash.

20150621_Day 13_02

Breakfast of champions.

It was also time for Resupply Stop #2. Remember when Dustin and I bought a bunch of food, shoved it in some boxes and mailed them off to our future hiking selves? This is what those boxes looked like.

20150703_Day 25_01

Contents of Box One. Boxes Two and Three eagerly await their turns to be opened.

Of course since we didn’t really know what we were doing, we occasionally sent ourselves too much food. This was a problem due to the 2 lbs, 9 oz plastic bundle of joy we each carried, otherwise known as the BearVault BV500. The BearVault is the type of bear canister we used to store our food in throughout the Sierra.

The BearVault is bulky. The BearVault is heavy. The BearVault is required. Some whining occurred.

(Side note: Our friend BearVault is 100% important in keeping wildlife safe and despite the occasional whine, I’m a firm supporter of carrying bear canisters in designated areas to keep food out of grubby little paws. Plus the idea of losing food to a wee critter and awaking the Hiker Hanger still terrifies me.)

The biggest issue with too much food is cramming it all in the BearVault. And in Independence, when the inevitable happened and the food didn’t all fit, we were left  to choose between two very difficult choices:

  1. Leave some of it in the Hiker Box for other hikers to nibble on.
  2. Eat everything that didn’t fit.

We went with the latter choice. Duh.

20150621_Day 13_01

Attempting to eat everything that didn’t fit.

 

Through My Headphones
*Keep Lying -Donna Missal

3 thoughts on “All The Food I Ever Wanted And More

  1. I’m currently working on resupply boxes for a 2016 thru-hike, and I’m curious – how many did you send yourself at each location? Thanks!

    • Hey Laura! Thanks for reading and congrats on your upcoming hike! So to be completely honest, I have no idea how many boxes I sent to each location –probably 2-3 each stop for two people, but it all depended on how far we were hiking and how much food we needed to get to the next stop.

      My boyfriend and I did a resupply strategy that worked really well for us. Prior to starting, we bought food for only the first 400 or so miles. We made sure to those first 400 miles ended in a town with a large grocery store and post office. There, we spent a zero day buying and mailing food for the next 400 or so. Repeat. We typically used the medium-sized flat rate boxes and stuffed as much food as we needed for that section. You can read more about our strategy here: https://myotherbackyard.wordpress.com/2015/10/28/planning-for-2000-miles-of-food-is-exhausting-so-we-just-didnt/

      Some people are really good at variety and healthy choices and looking at calories per ounce. I wasn’t. I bought what I was hungry for and what was cheap. I’d say this is what I typically ate in one day: 5 packets instant oatmeal, 8 granola/Clif/protein bars, trail mix/fruit snacks, something non-sweet like goldfish/cashews/corn nuts, Gatorade drink mix, a candy bar, peanut butter and tortillas for lunch, and a packaged dinner like Knorrs rice side. We had a lot of candy too. Jolly Ranchers were great, especially in the Sierra. Took our minds off the hard mountain passes 🙂

      Hope this helps! Feel free to email me if you have any more questions! katfranchino@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

