Domestic-ing (Homemade Laundry Detergent)

I started making my own powdered laundry detergent my senior year of college. Homemade laundry detergent is fantastic. For starters, it’s cheap. And it last forever. I only need to make perhaps maybe one batch per year, although this might be because I only wash my clothes maybe once a year.

Fun fact: This detergent works in HE machines.

Making laundry detergent takes about five and a half seconds. Or 20 minutes if you’re trying to photograph the process while running kitty defense. Koz got pretty excited about soap making and probably would’ve tried to eat it, which I’m pretty sure is what he does every time he finds something new.

Continuing.

Anyway, I ran out of laundry detergent a couple weeks ago recently and have taken to wearing my pajamas everywhere. It’s actually really nice.

Laundry Detergent Supplies

*1/2c borax
*1/2c washing soda
*1 bar of unscented soap, grated (I prefer Ivory bar soap since it’s super soft and takes two seconds to grate)
*Storage container
*Spoon
*Your best jammies

Directions
1. Grate soap finely. You can also grate it and then blend it if you want it super fine. I’m lazy and don’t.
2. Measure out 1/2 cup of borax and 1/2 cup of washing soda. Combine in your storage container.
3. Add soap and mix well. When washing clothes, I usually get the water running, add a couple tablespoons and then add my clothes.

Ta da!
20141019_Homemade_Laundry_Soap_01

This is it! This is all you need! You’re ready to soap!

20141019_Homemade_Laundry_Soap_05

Grating soap in my best jammies. Yes, they are owl print and yes, my mother made them. They are fabulous, thanks for asking.

20141019_Homemade_Laundry_Soap_03

Aftermath. I couldn’t for the life of me remember the recipe, so I Googled it and proceeded to make it with wonky measurements. Afterward I realized the recipe was written on top of the yogurt container I use to store the detergent it. Well done, self.

Through My Headphones
*MoneyGrabber -Fitz & The Tantrums
*Work It Out -Knox Hamilton

Leave a Reply

