Sandblasting Adventures

A few weeks ago, I decided I wanted to learn how to sandblast. Save for the time I sandblasted a bike frame, I know very little about sandblasting. Luckily my dad knows just about everything, plus has access to a sandblaster and a laser cutter. Clearly I was all set.

After doing some preliminary designs, we started laser cutting. I completely forgot my camera, so big thank you to my dad for all the sandblasting photos.

WP_20140105_006

Laser cutting!

WP_20140105_007

Card stock stencils, as it turns out, are too thin to withstand sandblasting.  So we experimented with cardboard, then felt, then plastics. Finally, a couple hours later, we determined that if we covered the card stock with masking tape, then cut out the design, all would be well.

WP_20140105_016

Stencil material success!

WP_20140105_011

Preparing glass #1 for sandblasting.

WP_20140105_014

Sandblasting

20140108_Sandblasted_Glasses_01

Completed glass #1

20140108_Sandblasted_Glasses_02

Completed glass #2 and a blueberry-banana smoothie.

Through My Headphones
*Heartbreaker -MSTRKRFT

One thought on “Sandblasting Adventures

Leave a Reply

