No Heat, Dinner, And Kitten Defense.

A few weeks back the temperature dropped to 19 or something, which is relatively cold for Kansas and I guess most places. My coworker Carol has cajoled me into YMCA-ing at ridiculously early hours in the morning, so that morning I braved the cold, muscled up or something, and returned to the smell of gas in the house. The gas was shut off, which really wasn’t a big deal to me as I keep the house at a balmy 55 degrees. The foster kitties weren’t having any of that though, so off to work the three of us went. All in all, a pleasant morning.

We returned to our frigid little house, where we learned the heating element was shot, so we broke out the sleeping bag and the three of us nestled in for the night.

20131113_Chunker_AKA_Emmitt_And_Emma_Foster_Kitties_01

Foster kittens Emmitt (AKA Chunker) and Emma nestling in our frigid little house.

The furnace was fixed, Chunker and Emma got adopted, and kitten withdrawal hit hard. So in came Babs, Benji and Charm.

And then, in an unexpected turn of events, Koz (best foster kitty ever) made a reappearance. He doesn’t get along with the other kittens though, so during the day I bring him to my office and at night I go on kitty defense, which is a lot of running back and forth, separating kittens while trying not to step on any of them.

Little has been accomplished with four kitties, but I can now change litter boxes at lightening fast speeds.

Sometime in between kitty defense and work, I stumbled into the joy of curry and smoothie dinners. Curry making is not my strong suit, so the recipe below is pseudo-curry. It might be tasty, but seeing as I once made a casserole from burned rice, I may not be the best judge.

20131209_Dinner_01

Strawberry Smoothie

  • Blend together ~1/2 c OJ, ~1/2c vanilla yogurt, 5 frozen strawberries, 1 peeled banana, and 2 tablespoons of wheat germ.
  • Drink and enjoy.

20131209_Dinner_02

Pseudo Potato Curry

  • Sautee onions, diced green peppers, broccoli, 2 cloves of garlic, 2 tablespoons curry powder, cumin, and sea salt in 2 tablespoons of olive oil until veggies are soft.
  • Add five small white or red potatoes, chopped. Add water until potatoes are partially submerged. Cover and cook on medium heat.
  • Add 1 cup frozen peas.
  • If you’re smart and remember to, add a few chopped Roma tomatoes. Or, in my case, just toss them on at the end.
  • Once the potatoes are soft, spoon out and enjoy.

20131209_Dinner_03

Through My Headphones

*Home By Saturday -Hayden Desser
*Read My Mind (Cover) -Leif Vollebekk
*Serpentine -Chris Bathgate

Leave a Reply

