An Afternoon Of Few Accomplishment (And My Carrot Harvest)

It’s been an incredibly lazy afternoon. I mostly just lay on the bed and Interneted. Usually I hate doing this because it makes me feel like a terrible person and completely unproductive, but it felt like a good day for lazing. I did pull some dead plants from my garden, and put the rear wheel back on my bike and bike to the library, though, so today wasn’t totally useless.

Continuing.

It felt like a good night for a pancake dinner with hot chocolate. I think this pancake recipe was originally a vegan recipe from Emma. It’s been heavily modified.

Pancake Ingredients

1/4 c whole wheat flour
1/4 c white flour
1/2 c oatmeal
Couple tablespoons wheat bran
3 Tbs honey
2 Tbs melted butter
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 c water

Pancake Directions

1. Heat greased pan over medium heat. Mix all ingredients.
2. Spoon on to heated pan.
3. Flip.

20131110_Breakfast_For_Dinner_02

It felt a little boring, so I added some maple syrup and some whipped cream that I’ve had since July. One of my foster kitties tried to enjoy it too, but then I caught him nibbling at my dinner and shoved him over to his own food dish.

My current two foster kitties sleep nearly 100% of the time. Except late at night and early in the morning. Then they are 100% active. They’re trying to sleep right now, so I keep tickling their tummies. Come on kitties. I really want to sleep tonight. Please.

I’m really terrible at following recipe instructions, so all measurements are estimates.

Hot Chocolate Ingredients
1 1/2 c milk
~1/4c sugar
1 tsp vanilla
~1/8c cocoa powder

Hot Chocolate Directions
1. Heat all ingredients in a pot on the stove on medium-low heat.
2. Whisk occasionally.
3. Wait until sugar dissolves and cocoa powder is mixed in thoroughly. Garnish with whip cream and cinnamon and enjoy.

 20131110_Breakfast_For_Dinner

Hot chocolate!

I also harvested the second item from my garden -a carrot. This is a big accomplishment, seeing as last year’s garden yielded nearly nothing save a few cherry tomatoes and a lot of mint.

20131109_Carrot_Harvest_01

Carrot harvest!

Through My Headphones
*Jolene (Cover) -Miley Cyrus

Leave a Reply

