Kitchen Curtains 3:30 AM Shirt

Last Sunday I decided it would be a great idea to take a nap at 6:00 pm. Late night naps are terrible ideas. Because when you wake up at 8:00 pm, you will be very, very awake and have nothing to do. Then you’ll get angry and bored, and be forced to stomp around the house in a very mature fashion.

Around 10:00, I figured I could probably put my new sewing table to the test and try to make another shirt out my girls’ dress pattern. My mom had sent me curtains from my childhood kitchen and it seemed just the perfect time to use them.

Not only am I a fairly terrible sewer, I’m also a fairly slow sewer. Five and a half hours later, lots of profanity, several buttons, and more ripped-out seams that necessary,  I transformed the kitchen curtains into some sort of buttoned shirt. It looks a little rough, but it hasn’t stopped me from wearing it to work.

(It turns out I don’t feel particularly motivated to photograph my progress in the early morning.)

20130731_Homemade_Shirt_From_Curtains_02

One day my neighbors are going to walk out the door to find me sitting in the backyard with the camera lashed to the fence.

20130731_Homemade_Shirt_From_Curtains_01Top. It’s a little janky. The front buttons have no function.

Through My Headphones

*Maybe Tomorrow -Stereophonics

8 thoughts on “Kitchen Curtains 3:30 AM Shirt

  1. That’s okay. My neighbors have seen me photographing my own feet (i.e., new handknit socks) dozens of times. Being the neighborhood oddity is fun!

  2. I can’t tell you enough how much I love your blog. Your posts are funny and not pretentious and your photos are beautiful. I came today, not feeling bad, not feeling, well, anything really. But now, I feel great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

