Heartland Farm Adventure

Dear Kansas –

I’m sorry I ever doubted your adventure potential.

Sincerely,
Kat

A few months ago, I hosted a CouchSurfer who told me about working in Wyoming and having some free time on her hands, so she’d WWOOF on the weekends. WWOOFing is one of those things I’ve heard a lot about, but still haven’t done. It’ll happen. Eventually.

Anyhoo, I thought this whole work-on-farms-on-weekends deal was intriguing, so I figured I might as well get my act together and do something about it since I have time. After some searching, I found Heartland Farm -a sustainable farm run by five Dominican Sisters of Peace -and went up to visit last weekend. It was a good choice.

20121229_Heartland_Farm_07Silo-turned-prayer space…

20121229_Heartland_Farm_06…And the inside. 

20121229_Heartland_Farm_09

Labyrinth -1/2 mile in, 1/2 mile out.

20121230_Heartland_Farm_03

Lettuce in the greenhouse.20121229_Heartland_Farm_04

Honey locust branches.

 
Through My Headphones
*Take A Walk -Passion Pit

Leave a Reply

