National Pretzel Day

One of the other local VISTAs recently alerted me that April 26 was National Pretzel Day. This is probably the swellest information in the whole world. I love bread-based awareness days. 

This was, without a doubt, the best pretzel recipe I’ve ever used. The pretzels were a lot like mall pretzels and they were still soft the next day. The baking soda part gives it a nice kick. Recipe courtesy of the Peas and Thank You cookbook.

Ingredients
-3/4 c warm water
-2 tsp sugar
-1 tsp dry yeast
-2.5 c unbleached, all-purpose flour
-1 tsp regular salt
-2 Tbs melted butter
-Water
-2/3 c baking soda
-2 Tbs sea salt

1. Combine water, sugar (I used some honey too) and yeast. Let it sit until foamy (5 minutes). (OK, I used a lot more yeast than needed. I didn’t start out making pretzels. This is probably why my pretzels are more like pretzel rolls.)
2. Add salt, butter and flour. I generally skip measuring flour and just go by the dough’s texture. You can do whichever. Knead. Transfer to an oiled bowl, cover and let it rise for 1 hour.
3. Once the dough’s risen, divide into 4 – 8 sections, roll each section until 12″ – 24″ and make into a pretzel shape. Or try to. I’m still working on this step.
4. Transfer to a baking sheet covered with oiled parchment paper.
5. Preheat oven to 450.
6. Boil water and baking soda in a large pot. Drop pretzels in one at a time and remove after 30 seconds. Place on baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt. Bake for 10 – 14 minutes.

In other exciting news, some fantastic LOVE Wichita volunteers spent their Saturday painting and gardening outside the IFM apartments. The area looks great! They also told me I took rather a lot of pictures. Indeed I did.

Thanks LOVE Wichita!

Want to know how to get involved in your community? Check out Volunteer Match.

Through My Headphones
*Don’t Move -Phantogram

Leave a Reply

