DIY Gardening Box (Or, Why It’s Good I Live Alone)

Note: In honor of this week’s Quarter Life challenge, I built a gardening box. Obviously the fact that my backyard is mostly gravel is not going to stop my gardening attempts. Nor are the facts that I’ve never really gardened before, my cactus is dying a slow, painful and lackluster death, and I can barely remember to cook for myself. (Case in point: Last night I ate homemade cheesy crackers for dinner at 11:30 PM.)

Continuing.

It turns out that my washer and dryer double as sawhorses.

Kat, surely you don’t mean the washer and dryer that also double as your countertops? The ones right in your kitchen? The ones you regularly prepare food on?
Oh, but I really do.
And you this this is a good idea? To have all this nasty rotting lumber and sawdust right by the food?
No, I actually think it’s a great idea, thanks.

Free lumber from someone’s old deck. It was a bit damp and cracked, but otherwise quite fine and dandy.

How To Make A Small Gardening Box
1. Get about 13″ of lumber and some small scrap pieces. I used two 6.5-ish’ 2X4s found on Craigslist and four 12″ 1X4s leftover from my bed frame.
2. Cut each 2X4 into 4 equal-ish pieces. I followed the age-old advice, measure once, cut once. Oh, wait… I later discovered the second piece of lumber was a bit shorter than the first. Life went on.

Obviously this is an advertisement for Stanley products. Notice how I’ve stopped cutting this piece of lumber in order to photograph the scene? I take a lot of project breaks. Clearly this was Project Break #47.

3. Drill four of the boards together to create a box.
4. Drill the remain four boards together to create a second box. Try to avoid the recycling.


5. Balance the two on top of each other. Connect the two box frames with the scrap lumber.
6. Ta-da! You have a gardening box.

Finished box tastefully photographed at an angle where no one can see that one board’s painfully shorter than the rest.

Yesterday I read an article on the benefits to living alone. Naturally there are some downsides to living alone, but for the most part, I find living alone rather enjoyable.

Seven Reasons Why It’s Good I Live Alone

1. Sometimes I take lots of project breaks. Sometimes I just stop in the middle of a step and walk away for a bit. See the sawing image above. This is why it took me three hours to build the gardening box. That’s why it’s taken me two hours to write this post. Sometimes I even walk away for days. (I have really good intentions of fixing that bike flat today, by the by.)

2. Yesterday I unapologetically listened to Michelle Branch for two solid hours and had to explain this to no one.

3. I sweep my house in steps. 1/3 here. Break. 1/3 there. Break. 1/3 a few hours later. Or the next day. Whatever.

4. It’s OK if my fridge is mostly empty. It’s also OK if yogurt is eaten straight from the carton or if I want to start a yeast-based bread at 10:00 PM.

5. My kitchen can be a work room. Or a laundry room. Or just a kitchen. Or all three. At once.

6. If I decide the fire alarm batteries need to be changed Right. This. Instant, it is fine if I noisily drag my table across the room, stand on it, and change the batteries, even if it is 12:30 AM.

7. Occasionally I forget to drop off my recycling at the recycling center. Occasionally I forget for four or five months. See image #3.

Through My Headphones

*Panic Switch -Silversun Pickups
*One Of These Days -Michelle Branch

5 thoughts on “DIY Gardening Box (Or, Why It’s Good I Live Alone)

  1. I enjoyed your post and it made me smile. Living alone and doing what one wants is nice indeed. That is until you find someone that compliments all of those idiosyncrasy. For me I hope to find a pirates wife one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

