Wichita, KS

About two months ago, I accepted a job as an AmeriCorps VISTA at a non-profit in Wichita, KS. So here I am, back in the Midwest for at least a year. My apartment is adorable, by the way. It might be the most adorable apartment in all of Wichita, maybe the world. I asked really important questions before I agreed to rent it, questions like, “Those walls are staying purple, right?” I didn’t even ask how long the lease was until after I agreed to rent it. That’s a true story, by the way. Once again, aesthetics trump common sense.

My very adorable kitchen. I’ve stocked it with clementines and embarrassingly cheap tea.

Here’s a true fact: I don’t own any furniture. Yesterday, though, I became the proud owner of a lamp and two orange chairs that I think used to be church pews. I immediately had to tell someone about my fab orange chairs.

Almost-Actual Conversation

Me: EL! Look at my orange chairs!
Eleanor: Those are the ugliest chairs ever.

One of my completely fabulous chairs.

4 thoughts on “Wichita, KS

  1. p.s. And doesn’t the chair match the dishes in the cupboard? Those look familiar. Like something I may have eaten off of along the might Chippewa.

  2. Hey Chocolate Milk buddy! If you’re ever in Wichita, there’s a chartreuse couch you can stay on!

    Why Karen, yes indeed! Those are definitely the plates near the mighty Chippewa.

Leave a Reply

