So This One Time, I Made A Cake

It’s Cole’s birthday soon and naturally birthdays call for cake. I made him this tasty red velvet one courtesy of Bon Appétit. Alas, my cake flour smelled a bit off. Supposedly cake flour smells different as it’s been chlorinated, but since I’d never used cake flour before, I had no idea how different was too different. I made my own instead: Remove 2 tablespoons of flour for every cup of flour and replace with 2 tablespoons corn starch. Sift one and a half million times. Despite using homemade cake flour, the cake turned out pretty well, albeit a little dry. Nothing like some cream cheese frosting to cover that little oopsy up.

Berry decorating courtesy of Amber H. and Erin M., with the exception of a few extremely well-placed blueberries.

Leave a Reply

