The Oxford Project

Today I made a major step toward adulthood -I acquired an iron. As I don’t have an ironing board, using it will be a little tricky, but at least I have the opportunity to look presentable.

Moving on. If there was a best-dressed Press Herald intern contest, I would lose. Today one of the editors took me and the other two interns out to lunch. One wore a dress shirt, tie, and pressed slacks. The other wore gold sandals and a blue dress. I will use the excuse that both are older than I am, and therefore more mature. My pants have made their fourth appearance during the five-day work week. They took a small break yesterday. Clean Shirt #1 must now be worn with my red scarf, as previous pairings of C.S. #1 and scarf have resulted in the scarf’s dye bleeding onto the shirt. It’s more of a bandanna and, as I wear it around my neck, it makes me look like some sort of modern day Western gangster. Think John Wanye.

The four of us road-tripped over to South Portland to check out the Press Herald’s printing press. It wasn’t running while we were there, which was a minor bummer, but it was still neat to see. It takes about an hour to print the 65,000 subscriptions.

The Press Herald’s printing press. Kind of a beast of a machine.

I finally got around to getting a library card today, and promptly checked out The Oxford Project. In 1984, photographer Peter Feldstein set out to photography all 670 citizens of Oxford, Iowa. In 2005, he went back, this time with writer Stephen G. Bloom. While Feldstein re-photographed everyone he could, Bloom interviewed them. Very interesting read. As far as photography goes, there’s not much to say about it. It’s very simple, and alone, not very inspiring. But with all the images together and coupled with the interviews, it becomes fascinating.

Leave a Reply

