MOB

Fake Challah

Posted in Uncategorized by katfranchino on October 12, 2010

Boy, do I like bread. I’m also one of those weird people who likes to make bread. I like to cook and bake -I just really hate finding recipes (i.e., send me some). I usually revert to my stash of favorites (pad thai, challah and apple pie) and, since I usually don’t have all the ingredients, tweak them a bit.

I had four eggs, sugar, and a dinner party yesterday, which made  five-eggs-and-honey challah recipes sort of tricky. After some searching, I came across a one-egg-no-honey challah and made it. I’ve since been informed that a one-egg challah is not challah. Rather, it is white bread.

Fake challah. But very tasty fake challah.

 

Speaking of egg, once I tried to make challah with some sort of powdered egg substitute. It didn’t work.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cocktailsattiffanys said, on October 12, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    I couldn’t help but think of Sex & The City when I saw this post—when Charlotte spends the entire day trying to make this bread perfect for Harry.

    -Lucky

  2. katfranchino said, on October 13, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Ha! I’ve never seen Sex & the City, but I feel inclined to watch it now, albeit solely for the bread. Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

